Skip to content

What is Homeowners Insurance?

What is Homeowners Insurance?


Homeowners insurance provides you with financial protection in the event of a disaster or accident involving your home.

Ohio does not require homeowners insurance. However, and it is wise to purchase homeowners insurance if you plan on buying a house, and it may be hard to get a mortgage without it.

It’s especially important to explore all of your options if you plan on having a safety hazard such as a swimming pool or a trampoline. You could be held liable for someone being injured from improper use of potential hazards—even if you did not give them permission to use it.

What’s included in a standard homeowners insurance policy?
Most standard homeowners insurance policies include four essential types of coverage:

  • Coverage for the structure of your home
  • Coverage for your personal belongings
  • Liability protection
  • Additional living expenses (ALE)

Read about each policy here.

What is not covered by a standard homeowners policy?

Homeowners insurance covers many types of disaster related damage, but there are exceptions, including flood or earthquake damage.


Maintenance related problems are the homeowner's responsibility, and are not typically covered by a standard homeowners insurance policy, though there are niche insurance products on the market that may be available to protect against maintenance issues.


What are other types of homeowners insurance?

In addition to a standard homeowners insurance policy, there are other types of policies for different housing types and needs. View the Ohio Department of Insurance Guide to Homeowners Insurance to view other types of coverage.

Interested in purchasing a homeowners insurance policy? View our member list to find a provider that can help!

Powered By GrowthZone

Related Articles

Scroll To Top